What is LASIK?

LASIK (Laser in-situ Keratomileusis) is a surgical procedure combined with laser to reshape the cornea in order to correct refractive errors including myopia, hypermetropia and astigmatism.

By the use of laser during surgery, great precision and accuracy may be achieved, making it most suitable for refractive correction.

LASIK surgery consists of first creating a partial thickness lamellar flap of the cornea and followed by laser polishing of the underlying stromal bed. The cornea curvature is therefore reshaped as programmed and the refractive outcome achieved accordingly. After laser application, the cornea flap is replaced and heals naturally.

A partial thickness lamellar flap of the cornea is created.

Laser is applied to the underlying stromal bed of the cornea, reshaping as programmed.

The cornea flap is replaced and heals naturally.

A partial thickness lamellar flap of the cornea is created.

Laser is applied to the underlying stromal bed of the cornea, reshaping as programmed.

The cornea flap is replaced and heals naturally.

The characteristics of LASIK

LASIK involves polishing under the cornea surface; therefore it causes minimal discomfort, induces less corneal haze, less astigmatism, and recovers faster when compared with previous methods of refractive surgery.

Other features:

  • More satisfactory results for correction of myopia under 15 dioptres.
  • Able to correct hypermetropia and astigmatism under 6 dioptres.
  • Stable and precise corrections.
  • No need to attend a hospital.
  • No need to have anesthetic injection.
  • Surgery completed in minutes.
  • Vision correction achieved on the day.

Laser refractive surgery was introduced in Hong Kong in 1992, and The Hong Kong Eye Day Surgery Centre had provided such services since its inception. Tens of thousands of patients had received the procedure successfully since 2005. As a market leader, the centre installed the world’s most advanced LASIK equipment, WaveLight EX500 Excimer Laser System and Intralase FS150. Combined with wavefront guidance to create custom cornea measurement and treatment, the refractive correction achieves maximum precision and the visual quality is uncompromisingly superior.

Our centre has experienced attending doctors, all specialists in ophthalmology and professionally trained in refractive surgeries. With more than a decade of experience and after more than ten thousand cases, our results have been both satisfactory and reliable.

The WaveLight EX500 Excimer Laser System can correct 1.00 dioptre of myopia or astigmatism in just 2.5 seconds. The aspheric property of the cornea (known as the ‘Q value’) may affect visual quality under dim lighting conditions. The German manufacturer Wavelight pioneered wavefront-optimised ablation profiles, thus integrating an important wavefront-guided treatment feature in standard laser vision correction. The small diameter of the spot allows a high-precision contouring of the correction profile, while minimising the total overall ablation depth. A wavefront-optimised beam profile together with small laser spots allow operations in large optical zones and ensure optimal transitional zones. As a result, patients have the best quality image even under demanding lighting conditions with the least amount of distortions.

Intralase FS150 is the second-generation laser keratome (eliminating the use of a razor blade keratome), and the first of its kind in Hong Kong. When compared to the Intralase FS60, it is twice as fast and even more precise, enhancing both surgical accuracy and patient comfort.

Our centre offers free assessments. Please call our dedicated staff for appointment Tel. 8166 1111

什麼是LASIK

LASIK (Laser in situ Keratomileusis) 是一種混合手術與激光科技去改善眼角膜形狀,藉以矯正近視,遠視及散光的手術。

運用激光科技進行手術,可以極其細緻及準確,因此特別適合用作矯視手術。

LASIK 的原理是在角膜表面揭起一塊角膜瓣,再以激光去磨塑角膜瓣下之角膜內層,改善角膜的形狀及弧度,達致矯正視力的效果。磨塑角膜後,以角膜瓣覆蓋原位,使其自然愈合。

將角膜表面揭起一層薄細胞膜,成一塊角膜瓣。

激光投射到角膜內層,將其磨塑至預先計算好的弧度及形狀。

蓋回角膜瓣,無須縫針,約六小時便可自然愈合。期間眼睛會蓋上眼罩以作保護。

將角膜表面揭起一層薄細胞膜,成一塊角膜瓣。

激光投射到角膜內層,將其磨塑至預先計算好的弧度及形狀。

蓋回角膜瓣,無須縫針,約六小時便可自然愈合。期間眼睛會蓋上眼罩以作保護。

LASIK 的特點

LASIK 手術直接在角膜內進行,因此其所引起不適的感覺甚少,而角膜霧化及散光的機會亦較細。視力復原的速度亦較其他激光矯視手術快。

其他特點 :

  • 矯正一千五百度以下的近視效果甚佳
  • 能矯正六百度以下的遠視及散光
  • 效果準確、穩定
  • 毋須入院進行
  • 毋須注射麻醉藥
  • 手術衹需數分鐘
  • 即日達成視力矯正效果

自1992年激光矯視技術引入香港,已有數以萬計的人士接受此手術,本中心自成立以來,便設有此服務,並於2014年1月斥鉅資,率先引入全球最先進的激光矯視儀器,500Hz 之 WaveLight EX500 Excimer Laser 激光矯視儀器及Intralase FS150。再配合前導波測量儀,為個別人士的角膜情況提供更個人化的專業調整及控制激光,角膜切割更為精確細緻,視力質素大大提升。

本中心的眼科醫生均接受專業激光矯視訓練,並擁有逾十年的經驗,經本中心進行的激光矯視個案已超過一萬個,絕大部份手術均達到預期效果。

WaveLight EX500 Excimer Laser 激光矯視儀器,每矯正100度近視或散光,只需2.5秒時間完成。 角膜的非球面性(稱作Q值)會影響在弱光條件下的視力,德國 Wavelight非球面超頻微光斑,以前導波優化技術,在治療角膜的周邊區域時,每一發雷射光束會依照每個角膜獨特的形狀,準確的補正周邊所需的能量,達到最佳的非球面形態,從而得到更加滿意的視覺品質。減少眩光,大幅提升夜間視力與寬廣的視野。

Intralase FS150,是香港第三代全激光角膜層板分離器;相比Intralase FS60,速度快了一倍,能將矯視手術的準確度及舒適度提高。

本中心設有術前檢查及評估,請至電 8166 1111 會有專人聯絡,安排驗眼。報名參加【免費矯視講座】請按此處